Textualities 2017: In Review

The Textualities 2017 Conference for UCC English MA’s is officially past. This feels quite overwhelming, as the conference has loomed as one of the most significant landmarks of the MA since I first learned about it in September.

All in all, it was a very fun day, and I was very proud of my work on the presentation, as well as the work of all my fellow-students.

Pre-conference, I was on the web design team; specifically, I was responsible for making a page of bio entries for my own MA, Irish Writing and Film. Luckily, I already had some useful WordPress experience thanks to this very blog, which made the job a breeze. It was an educational experience learning how best to liaise with the other project groups on the Conference (such as the social media group in particular). I was very happy with the work my fellow-students put into preparing for the conference. I felt like everyone was very invested in making sure the event went off without a hitch. If you would like to see my contribution, as well as learn about some of my wonderful classmates, please see here.

On the day of the conference, I was glad to be going on the first panel. I have never been one for sitting around stewing, so I was glad to be able to get up and make my contribution right out of the gate. I probably stumbled a stuttered a few times, but I was quite happy with how my presentation went. I committed to not using note cards, partially because stopping to read note cards sometimes throws off my train of thought when speaking in public, but also because I wanted to commit to staying as open and focused on my audience as possible. On that note, my audience was clearly very attentive, which certainly helped me feel confident about the presentation.

And, of course, having the support of my fellow-students was very helpful.

I think the most helpful part of the conference experience was getting to know more about the thesis research of my fellow students. I know that as I work forward on my research, I’ll be keeping an eye out for anything I come across that might be particularly relevant or helpful to anyone else. It is also helpful just to know more about the genuine interests of my classmates. While I got a sense of what a lot for other students liked in class, it was always limited by what any specific module was on; I might learn what their favorite texts from a course was, but less about what genuinely interests them. I feel like hearing about my fellow students thesis goals gave me a better understanding of what drew them to pursue graduate study in the first place, which, in a way, helps me understand why I am pursuing it as well.

Also, while it was a day for studies and work, it was also a nice day for some fun. I really enjoyed getting to spend the day with my classmates, and my wife, Madilyn, even got to watch as well (she helped me out by live-tweeting my thoughts on my own presentation for me in real time:

Ultimately, I’m moving forward from the conference feeling energized about my thesis and looking forward to the work to come over the next few months.

In case you are curious, you can check out my presentation here! (sorry that it isn’t featured directly. Apparently WordPress no longer supports Prezi embeds.)

Prezi Citation Information

“A Celebrated Ethiopian Ballad”. 1842. The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music, Special Collections, The Johns Hopkins University. Uncle Tom’s Cabin and American Culture, utc.iath.virginia.edu/minstrel/migallsof.html. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Dan Emmet Portrait”. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dan_Emmett_portrait.jpg. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Dan Rice”. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dan-Rice.JPG. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Dion Boucicault Photo 1”. Wikimedia Commons, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:DION_BOUCICAULT_PHOTO_1.jpg. Accessed on 2 March 2017

“Frederick Douglass c1860s”. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Frederick_Douglass_c1860s.jpg. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“James Clarence Mangan”. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:James_Clarence_Mangan.jpg. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

Joyce, Race and Empire Cover”. Cambridge University Press, admin.cambridge.org/academic/subjects/literature/english-literature-1900-1945/joyce-race-and-empire?format=PB. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Mr. T. Rice as the Original Jim Crow”. n.d. the Harvard Theatre Collection, The Houghton Library. Uncle Tom’s Cabin and American Culture, utc.iath.virginia.edu/saxon/servlet/SaxonServlet?source=utc/xml/pretexts/gallery/miillsoa.xml&style=utc/xsl/utc_figs.xsl&ent=mihtcill1&n1=tpage&clear-stylesheet-cache=yes. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“My Dark Rosaleen: An Irish Patriotic Song”. 1897. Irish Traditional Music Archive, http://www.itma.ie/digitallibrary/book/36297-sm. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Original Christy Minstrels”. Freemans Journal. 20 May 1871. pp. 1. Irish Newspaper Archive, archive.irishnewsarchive.com.library.ucc.ie/Olive/APA/INA.Edu/SharedView.Article.aspx?href=FMJ%2F1871%2F05%2F20&id=Ar00104&sk=644A8901. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Stage Irishman”. ansionnachfionn.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/dear-old-oirland-where-the-oirish-doth-play.jpg?w=320, Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Stephen Foster Portrait”. Wikimedia Commons, upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2a/StephenFoster.jpeg. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“The Coal Black Rose”. 1830. the Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music, Special Collections, The Johns Hopkins University. Uncle Tom’s Cabin and American Culture, utc.iath.virginia.edu/saxon/servlet/SaxonServlet?source=utc/xml/pretexts/gallery/miillsoa.xml&style=utc/xsl/utc_figs.xsl&ent=lsm017078&n1=tpage&clear-stylesheet-cache=yes. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

“Thomas Moore after Thomas Lawrence”. Wikimedia Commons, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Thomas_Moore,_after_Thomas_Lawrence.jpg. Accessed on 2 March 2017.

3 thoughts on “Textualities 2017: In Review

  1. Hi Cody – Congratulations to you and the other students for putting on such a great conference the other day. I emailed you that Carson reading list that we talked at the conference the other day, but I’m not sure it worked (I may have got some of the numbers and letters in your UCC email address mixed up). So, as a precaution, here it is again.

    Best of luck with it,

    Adam

    Ciaran Carson Secondary Reading

    Neil Alexander, Ciaran Carson: Space, Place, Writing (2010)
    Shane Alcobia-Murphy, Sympathetic Ink: Intertextual Relations in Northern Irish Poetry (2006) – contains material on Muldoon’s similarly allusive practice
    Neil Corcoran, Poets of Modern Ireland (1999) – contains important essays on Carson
    Elmer Kennedy-Andrews, ed., Ciaran Carson: Critical Essays (2009)
    Richard Kirkland, Literature and Culture in Northern Ireland Since 1965 (1996) – chp 2 on Carson
    Edna Longley, The Living Stream (1994) – use index
    Peter McDonald, Mistaken Identities: Poetry and Northern Ireland (1997) – see chp 3
    David Wheatley, ‘“That Blank Mouth”: Secrecy, Shibboleths, and Silence in Northern Irish Poetry’, Journal of Modern Literature 25.1 (2001)

    Like

    1. Thank you very much Dr. Hanna! I did receive your email, but got caught up in some projects and forgot to respond. I’m hoping to have some thoughts about a thesis by your Heaney class next week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

