Literature and I.T. Review

My thesis, currently titled “Jumpin’ Jim Joyce: The Minstrel Show in the Mind of Joyce”, will attempt to locate an Irish reading of the Minstrel show as a cultural text. I will focus on references to and representations of blackface minstrelsy in “The Dead”, Ulysses, and Finnegans Wake, approaching these texts from a hybridized critical perspective drawing on Postcolonial and Translation theory, while also focusing on Joyce’s historical and social influences in the form of earlier authors’ influence on Joyce’s interpretation and presentation of minstrel show tropes. Ultimately, I hope to argue that, to Joyce, the minstrel show was a potentially subversive performance, a kind of cultural translation that, much like his linguistic breakdown in Finnegans Wake, reveals a hybridity and playfulness that is destructive to the hierarchies of empire.

jjq_bg

 

I intend to rely on Eric Lott’s seminal study of the minstrel show, Love and Theft: Blackface Minstrelsy and the American Working Class (Oxford U.P., 1993), to establish the beginnings of the minstrel show and its role in late-19th century culture. Alongside Lott, I plan to use David Roediger’s The Wages of Whiteness: Race and the Making of the American Working Class (Verso, 2007), and Ignatiev Noel’s How the Irish Became White (Routledge, 1995) in a consideration of Irish-American involvement in the minstrel show, and the resulting Irish influence on minstrel show tropes that helped lead to their popularity in Ireland. On that note, I will be drawing on Douglas Riach’s 1973 article “Blacks and Blackface on the Irish Stage, 1830-60” (Journal of American Studies 7.3) and Margaret Greaves 2012 piece “Slave Ships and Coffin Ships: Transatlantic Exchanges in Irish-American Blackface Minstrelsy” (Comparative American Studies 10.1) to reveal how the minstrel show was perceived in Ireland.

Obviously, existing studies on Joyce will make up some of the most significant research I will be drawing on in my thesis. To root my analysis in Joyce’s historical contexts, I will use Richard Ellman’s definitive biography James Joyce (Oxford U.P., 1959), as well as Joyce’s collected letters (Faber, 1966) and his brother, Stanislaus Joyce’s, memoirs, My Brother’s Keeper (Faber, 1958). I hope to use the biographical information from these sources to establish a line of historical and artistic influences that impacted Joyce’s understanding of theatrical performance, cultural exchange, colonial relationships, and translation, arguing that Joyce’s approach to these concepts would have had a notable impact on his opinion of the minstrel show.

41b8p7wtwkl-_sx322_bo1204203200_ Furthermore, I intend to build my argument on literary studies of Joyce that approach his work through the filter of Postcolonial and Irish studies, such as Vincent Cheng’s Joyce, Race and Empire (Cambridge U.P., 1995), Derek Attridge and Marjorie Howes edited collection Semicolonial Joyce (Cambridge U.P., 2000), and Emer Nolan’s Catholic Emancipation: Irish Fiction from Thomas Moore to James Joyce (Syracuse U.P., 2007). As foundational studies of Joyce’s relationship to colonialism and racism, both Joyce, Race, and Empire and Semicolonial Joyce will establish many of the founding assumptions of my interpretation of Joyce as an author intent on renegotiating the Manichean principles of the colonial and nation-building enterprises of his day. Nolan’s work, which recovers a Catholic Irish literary tradition from the largely Anglo-Irish shadow of the Irish Literary Revival will reinforce my more biographical research and help to establish Joyce’s significant Irish influences such as Thomas Moore and James Clarence Mangan.

The minstrel show’s unique location at the intersection of discussions of high and low art, dialect, transnational cultural exchange, and racial power structures makes it a useful point of entry for a consideration of Joyce that rectifies the interpretative dilemmas often brought about by the conflict between modernist theorist’s insistence on the apolitical, cosmopolitan Joyce and Irish studies scholars tendency to see Joyce as a colonial author. As such, I will also be drawing on Christine Van Boheemen’s Joyce, Derrida, Lacan, and the Trauma of History: Reading, Narrative and Postcolonialism (Cambridge U.P., 1999), and Luke Gibbon’s Joyce’s Ghosts: Ireland, Modernism and Memory (Chicago U.P., 2015), both works which have paved the way for viewing Joyce’s Irish context as foundational to, rather than opposed to, his Modernism.

I will also be supporting my argument with more strictly theoretical texts. Naturally, I intend to make recourse to many of the foundational Postcolonial studies such as Edward Said’s Orientalism (Penguin, 2003), and Frantz Fanon’s work in The Wretched of the Earth (Grove Weidenfeld, 1963) and Black Skin, White Masks (Pluto Press, 1967). However, I intend to rely most heavily on works that situate Postcolonial theory in an Irish context such as Clare Carroll and Patricia King’s Ireland and Postcolonial Theory (Cork University Press, 2003), as well as many of David Lloyd’s works, but particularly Anomalous States: Irish Writing and the Post-colonial Moment and Nationalism (Duke University Press, 1993) and Minor Literature: James Clarence Mangan and the Emergence of Irish Cultural Nationalism (California U.P., 1987). These texts will help me establish the ways in which Joyce would perceive the relationship between African-Americans as presented on the minstrel stage and the Irish, as well as to help me explore the delicate power balances inherit in the minstrel show as an act which gives a dominant group the power to author (and alter) a subaltern perspective.

Additionally, Minor Literature, will serve as a significant text to establish Mangan’s faux-oriental translations as an influence on Joyce’s understanding of the minstrel show, and, as a result, opens the door to applying elements of translation theory to my thesis. Currently, I am hoping to use Walter Benjamin’s work in Illuminations (Fontana Press 1992), alongside the linguistic observations of George Steiner in After Babel: Aspects of Language and Translation (Oxford U.P., 1998) and Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak in “The Politics of Translation” from her collection Outside in the Teaching Machine (Routledge, 1993) to structure an interpretation of the minstrel show as a translation that reveals the ultimate instability of colonial and racial relations.

Finally, I intend to use databases provided by the Boole Library, such as Project Muse, but I am also interested in incorporating materials from public online archives such as the University of Virginia’s online collection Blackface Minstrelsy 1830-52 (utc.iath.virginia.edu/minstrel/mihp.html). I hope to experiment with some Digital Humanities distant reading tools such as Voyant (voyant-tools.org) in my approach to Finnegans Wake to help organize and chart common minstrel show terms and tropes as they appear in the text. voyantUltimately, most of my research materials are available at the Boole library, either physically or through its online offerings. In the event that the library does not have any necessary materials for my project, I intend to make use of the ALCID scheme to avail of other Irish libraries.

5 thoughts on “Literature and I.T. Review

  1. This sounds great! All I’ll add (but you are already aware of the dangers), since you intend to include the Wake, is the cautionary advice that I should have received with more emphasis as I began a project that included the Wake and Blake’s Jerusalem: Beware! Beware! “He who fights too long against dragons becomes a dragon himself; and if you gaze too long into the abyss, the abyss will gaze into you.” –Nietzsche
    lasciate ogni speranza, voi ch’entrate . . . that way madness lies.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This sounds like really exciting work Cody! I’m curious, what Walter Benjamin texts will you be looking at? While writing on him over the holidays, I found that, while a good place to start, Illuminations is a little outdated by now. Luckily, the Boole library has a great four volume collection of his selected work, with a much wider selection of his writings, helpful annotations, and a translation that strives for closer fidelity to the original texts.

    Like

    1. Currently, I’ve only really looked at Illuminations and an essay I found in a general collection on translation theory. I will have to look into the larger collections as I start to dig deeper. He looms quite large in David Lloyd’s work and Lloyd is informing a lot of my argument. Though I’m leaning towards drawing a bit more on George Steiner’s linguistic work (or things in his line of inquiry). Questions of the hermeneutic circle are coming up more as I draw more on translation theory, so I imagine we might end up swapping some sources as we go along.

      Like

Leave a Reply

